Hiring basics

Food Handler Card Requirements by US State (2026)

The US states, plus New York City, where we confirmed a food handler card or training requirement from official sources, with deadlines, validity, who pays and whether the exam is offered in Japanese.

Updated September 27, 2026 WashokuJob

Whether a new cook needs a food handler card, and how fast, depends on the state and sometimes the county. We verified ten states, plus New York City, from official sources: see the table below. For every other state we found no statewide card requirement we could confirm, so treat that as "not found," not "not required," and check your county or city health department before the first shift. A manager-level credential (CFPM) is separate and covered on our country page.

For a US manager onboarding a new cook who needs to know whether a card is required and how soon. This page owns US state detail only. For the country comparison, Japanese-language exam options and non-US markets, see food safety certification by country. For uniform and the sushi-counter bare-hand rule, see chef uniform and hygiene policy.

On this page

  1. Food handler card versus manager certificate
  2. States we verified
  3. California: the employer pays
  4. New York City: one supervisor, not every hire
  5. Every other state: what "not listed" means
  6. Onboarding checklist for each new kitchen hire

1. Food handler card versus manager certificate

Two different credentials are often confused:

2. States we verified

State / cityWhoDeadline after startingValiditySource
CaliforniaFood handlers in most facilities (some exempt; some counties run their own programme)30 days after hire3 yearsHealth and Safety Code 113948
FloridaFood service employees of public food service establishmentsTrained within 60 daysTraining every 3 years (DBPR)Florida Statutes 509.049; DBPR
HawaiiAt least one employee present at every food establishment during hoursApplies whenever open (since Sept 2018)Check providerHawaii Department of Health
IllinoisFood handlers, unless holding a valid CFPMWithin 30 days of hire3 years (ANSI certificates)Illinois Department of Public Health
New York CityOne supervisor per establishment, not every hire (Food Protection Certificate)Before the supervisor role beginsDoes not expireNYC Health Code; NYC DOHMH
New MexicoEmployees handling food, utensils or food contact surfaces, unless exempt30 calendar days from startNot stated on pages checked7.6.2 NMAC (amended July 2025)
OregonFood service workersWithin 30 days of starting3 years; card costs $10Oregon Health Authority
TexasAll food employees, unless certified managers or otherwise exemptWithin 30 days of employmentExpiry on card, or 2 years from issue if noneTexas DSHS (Food Establishment Rules §228.31)
UtahFood handlers at food service establishmentsTraining within 14 days; permit within 30Not stated in section checkedUtah Code 26B-7-413
WashingtonAnyone working with unpackaged food, equipment or food contact surfacesMay work up to 14 days before the card if employer-trainedFirst card 2 years; renewal 3; 5 with extra training. Card $10WA Dept of Health; RCW 69.06.010

All entries checked in September 2026. Local health departments can add requirements and rules change, so confirm with the department that inspects your restaurant.

3. California: the employer pays

California deserves a closer look: many Japanese restaurants, and specific employer duties. Health and Safety Code section 113948 requires a card within 30 days of hire, valid three years and portable between employers; the employer must treat training and exam time as paid hours worked, pay necessary expenses (Labor Code 2802), relieve the employee of other duties while training, and never condition employment on already holding a card.

The payment and non-conditioning rules came from Senate Bill 476, effective 1 January 2024. Do not write "food handler card required" in a California job ad; schedule the course in the first weeks and pay for it and the time.

A chef arriving from Japan is a new hire like anyone else. Book the food handler course, and the CFPM exam if they will be your certified manager, into their first month's rota, not their days off.

4. New York City: one supervisor, not every hire

New York State has no statewide card requirement we could confirm. New York City is different: the Health Code requires one supervisor per establishment, not every hire, to hold a Food Protection Certificate. The in-person course is $114 over five 3-hour days; online is free with a $24 in-person exam fee. It does not expire. The course runs in English, Spanish and Chinese; the official FAQ confirms no Japanese, so budget an interpreter if your supervisor's English is limited.

Two other metros worth a direct note: Harris County (Houston) runs on the Texas statewide rule above, not a separate county card, and stopped its own in-person class on 1 September 2025 for state-accredited online training. Miami-Dade follows Florida's statewide rule in the table; we found no separate county card. "Check the county" here mostly confirms the state rule is enforced locally, not an extra credential.

5. Every other state: what "not listed" means

If your state is not in the table, we did not confirm a statewide requirement, not that none exists. Some states set requirements only at county or city level, as New York does; some require training without a card. Before assuming there is nothing to do, check your county or city health department's food safety pages, the state health or agriculture department that licenses restaurants, and the inspection form your inspector uses, which usually lists training items.

Separately, the FDA Food Code, the model many states base their rules on, has a new 2026 edition published in September 2026; states adopt it on their own schedule, so it does not change your state's rule until the state acts.

6. Onboarding checklist for each new kitchen hire

  1. Confirm the state and local requirement and the deadline from the first shift, not the hire date, if they differ.
  2. Choose an accredited or state-approved provider. Some advertise "multiple languages" without listing them, and ServSafe's Food Handler exam has no Japanese option; ask directly rather than assume.
  3. Schedule the course during paid time where required (California only among our verified states; confirm who pays elsewhere before the hire starts).
  4. Keep a copy of each card on file with its expiry date; some states require it on site for inspection.
  5. Set a renewal reminder 60 days before expiry. A lapsed card while still employed means the person should not handle food until it is renewed.
  6. If the person is your certified manager, schedule the CFPM exam too, and certify a second person in case they leave.

For state-by-state pay and hiring conditions, see the city guides, for example hiring a sushi chef in Los Angeles, Texas and Seattle.

Figures that expire: card fees and validity periods above, and the FDA Food Code edition each state has adopted. NYC's course fee and language list can change; re-check with NYC DOHMH before booking. Checked 27 September 2026; next review March 2027.

Frequently asked questions

Which US states require a food handler card?

We confirmed California, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah and Washington, plus a supervisor-level certificate in New York City. For every other state we found no statewide requirement we could confirm; check your county or city health department rather than assume there is none.

Who pays, the employer or the employee?

Only California requires the employer to pay and treat the time as hours worked (Senate Bill 476, since 1 January 2024). Our other verified states put no cost on the employer by default, so set your own policy before the hire starts.

Is the exam offered in Japanese?

Not in New York City, which explicitly does not offer it, and we found no confirmed Japanese option in any state in our table. ServSafe's own Food Handler exam runs in English, Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese and Korean, with no Japanese. Ask your provider directly before assuming.

Do Houston and Miami-Dade have their own card, separate from the state?

No, based on what we could confirm. Both run on their state's rule (Texas and Florida) rather than a separate county card. Houston stopped its own in-person course on 1 September 2025 for Texas's state-accredited online training.

What happens if a card lapses while someone is still employed?

None of the pages we checked describe a grace period. Treat it as making that person non-compliant to handle food until renewed, which is why the renewal reminder should go out 60 days before expiry.

General information, not legal advice. Food handler rules are set by states and localities and change; confirm with your local health department before relying on this table.

Sources

Hiring a chef from Japan?

WashokuJob is a job board built only for Japanese restaurants outside Japan. Tell us the role and the city, and we will come back with how a listing would work for you.

Hiring a Washoku chef?

Reach Japanese-cuisine chefs worldwide by posting your job on WashokuJob.